Contact   |   Location   |   Links
You are here:   Home
  |  Login

UYC members sail for Cumbria at Schools Nationals

UYC members sail for Cumbria at Schools Nationals

Eighteen Cumbria youth sailors came together from clubs across the county including Ullswater Yacht Club, South Windermere Sailing Club and Bassenthwaite Sailing Club, with expert support from Julie Tomkinson, team manager, and parent volunteers John Thornley and Duncan Copley. The team included UYC members Holly Monk, Megan and Abi Thornley and Isabel and James Abbatt as well as former club members April and Jamie Whiteley. After the regatta Julie Tomkinson was full of praise for the team: “Well done to all the Cumbria Youth Sailors. I don’t think their attitude, behaviour, aptitude and enthusiasm can be surpassed.  I was delighted with the racing results. I am very proud of the team. Good luck to those off to Cowes and sailing the Ocean Youth Trust boat.”

Cumbria Youth Sailing Team prize winners were:
The Slow Handicap Trophy, after 11 races over the week was won by Cumbria Team members Ellie Clark, helm and Holly Monk, of UYC crew, in a Feva. They also won the Feva Fleet Trophy.
In the Laser Standard Fleet, the third prize went to George Pulman of South Windermere Sailing Club.
Local Association Prizes:
The Bassenthwaite Trophy, for Outstanding Contribution to the Cumbria Team went to April Whiteley, helm, and Jamie Whiteley, crew, for their performance in the Kestrel.
Award sponsored by Andrew Simpson Sailing Foundation targeted at girls between 16 and 18 with high performance sailing experience: Megan Thornley of UYC and Catherine Hunt of Bassenthwaite SC were awarded a day’s training on an M32 Catamaran with Olympic sailor Annie Lush at Cowes on Ladies Day.
The Presidents Awards went to: Ethan Dawson and Jenny Dunn (both from Bassenthwaite SC) who won a five-day voyage on a tall ship with the Ocean Youth Trust.
Other placings:
Close behind George Pulman in the Laser Standard Fleet was Ethan Dawson of Bassenthwaite Sailing Club with a fourth.
Reuben Fox Copley of SWSC ended the Laser Radial Fleet series with a very respectable 12th out of a fleet of 60. Hazel Newport of Bassenthwaite SC was not too far behind him with a 21st.
In the Slow Handicap, Owen O’Donnell (SWSC) and James Abbatt of (UYC & SWSC), the only RS Tera Pros, were racing close together all week, leap-frogging each other in the rankings. Owen ended up in 9th with James in 14th position. This is their last year in the RS Tera class.
The Finn sailors ran off with the overall prizes in the Fast Handicap. But well sailed with great team effort on the sea which was new for some for the Cumbria Team were:
April Whiteley and Jamie Whiteley, 10th, (Kestrel)
Megan Thornley (UYC) and Faye Caswell, 14th, (29er)
Isabel Abbatt (UYC) and Edward Russell (SWSC) first RS200 and 22st overall
Catherine Hunt and Jenny Dunn (Bass) 25th (RS200)
Abi Thornley (UYC) and Nuala Murray (Windermere School), 32nd (RS200)

Trophy winners Holly Monk of UYC, left, and Ellie Clark

Posted on 02 August 2016 (Archive on 30 August 2016)
Posted by 51  Contributed by 51


Current Rating: