Contact   |   Location   |   Links
You are here:   Events > Lord Birkett Trophy
  |  Login

The 55th Lord Birkett Memorial Trophy, July 1 & 2, 2017

Entry will be online only with no entries accepted on the day. More details later.

THIS year it could be you… the 55th Lord Birkett Memorial Trophy at Ullswater Yacht Club is being held over the weekend of July 1 and 2.

The quest for the ‘Holy Grail’ of a Birkett win attracts keen sailors from national champions to novices from all over the country in a huge range of different boats all racing the full length of Ullswater and back on both days. The entry limit is fixed at 230 boats. The winner will not only take home the sought-after Birkett silver salver but also get to spend a night at luxury hotel, the Sharrow Bay. The club’s next door neighbour, the prestigious Sharrow Bay country house hotel has generously offered a prize for the winner – bed and breakfast for two.

Birkett racers in front of the Sharrow Bay Hotel, picture by Tim Olin

One of the most spectacular sailing events in the North, the Birkett was rated number eight in the top ‘must do’ sailing regattas by Yachts and Yachting magazine. The unique race was first sailed in 1963 to commemorate the successful defence by Lord Norman Birkett of the right of public access to Ullswater which was threatened with reservoir status.

The Birkett is open to all monohulls with a recognised handicap rating. All boats, from the smallest dinghies to high performance racing machines and cruisers, race from one mass start with the line stretching across the full width of the lake. They race down the lake, a distance of about seven miles, past Kailpot Crag and the plaque to the memory of Lord Birkett, round an island at the southern end, and back. Then they do it all again on Sunday - with both races to count.

More details to follow

Birkett Documents

 TitleModified DateSizeDescription
Birkett 2017 Entry via Sailracer to come31/01/2017UnknownLink to SailRacer entry
Days Hours Min Sec

Countdown to the 55th Lord Birkett Trophy